Cyngor Abertawe Swansea Council

City and County of Swansea

Notice of Meeting

You are invited to attend a Meeting of the

Special Standards Committee

At: Room 235 (Councillors Meeting Room) - Guildhall, Swansea

On: Thursday, 7 February 2019

Time: 10.00 am

Chair: Jill Burgess

Membership:

Councillors: J A Hale, M B Lewis and L G Thomas

Co-opted Members: Gareth Evans, Michaela Jones, Mike Lewis and

Margaret Williams

Community / Town Council Representative: P Crayford

Agenda

Page No.

- 1 Apologies for Absence.
- 2 Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests.

www.swansea.gov.uk/disclosuresofinterests

3 Minutes. 1 - 5

To approve & sign the Minutes of the previous meeting(s) as a correct record.

- 4 Code of Conduct Casebook. 6 15
- 5 Breach of Code of Conduct Complaints made to the Public 16 Services Ombudsman for Wales (PSOW).
- 6 Exclusion of the Public. 17 20
- 7 Requests for Dispensation. 21 25

Huw Evans

Head of Democratic Services

Thursday, 31 January 2019

Contact: Democratic Services - (01792) 636923

Councillors

Councillors Labour: 2

Joe A Hale	Mike B Lewis
1 00C / C I IdiC	I WINC D LCWIS

Councillors Liberal Democrat & Independent Group 1

L Graham Thomas	

Independent Members

Name	Term of Office	Name	Term of Office
Jill Burgess *	19.10.2012 to	Michaela Jones	01.10.2017 to
_	18.10.2018		30.09.2023
	Re-appointed to		
	18.10.2022		
Philip Crayford *	05.10.2012 to	Mike Lewis	01.10.2017 to
	04.05.2017		30.09.2023
	Re-appointed until		
	next Local		
	Government		
	Elections		
Gareth Evans	01.04.2015 to	Margaret Williams	01.04.2015 to
	31.03.2021		31.03.2021

NOTE:

- 1. * Denotes that the **period of office cannot be extended further**.
- 2. The **term of office for Independent Members** can be for not less than 4 nor more than 6 years. They can be reappointed for one further consecutive term but that term cannot be for more than 4 years.
- 3. **Members of the Local Authority/Community Town Councillors** who are members of the Standards Committee will have a term of office of no more than 4 years or ending at the next ordinary local government election following their election, whichever is the shorter.
- 4. The Standards Committee **shall not sit if the Independent Members are outnumbered by Councillors**. A Councillor shall remove him/herself from the meeting in order for the business to be transacted.
- 5. Only one Executive Member (except Leader) can sit on Standards Committee.

